VITAL Pool Update - October 2021

Without overstatement we think we have the most loyal delegators one can envision! Since 8 weeks no single slot was assigned to our pool. This is a streak of bad luck. But the past is not influencing future luck, so we hope that the streak is ending soon! Thanks for your patience!

In numbers the livetime luck of the Vital Pool dropped to 70% at a 100% pool performance. This means no single block has been missed. Hard to image which rewards we would have generated with 100% luck or even more. Hopefully time will also show such a scenario some time!

Overall Stats / Delegation Status

Since the last update not much changed in regards to active stake. Based on the missing slot assignment the average ROA of our delegators dropped to 4.16%. For those who joined our pool at the beginning this is still a 5.5% ROA including our initial 7% offer.


Pool Parameters Update / Fixed Cost Sharing

As announed in our previous update we are introducing a Fixed Cost Sharing Model. As Cardano still does not allow to define Fixed Cost below 340 ADA we are sharing 240 ADA of those fixed cost with our delegators. By that we achieve a ROA which compares to a 3.5M Pool. Furthermore the variable cost is changed to 2%. This makes sure that the pool operation cost ist covered and therefore is important to ensure sustainable operation. More details on our offer page.


Highlights since the last update

  • 7. September - Update 1.29 (Ready for Alonzo)
  • 28. September - xSPO Knowledge Share Github created
  • 30. September - Survey/Lottery
  • 4. October - Update 1.30.1


VITAL Pool Update - September 2021

Update regarding the current status of the VITAL Pool. Statistics, relevant changes, and highlights of the last 3 months. We enhanced the value proposition of our pool which now includes CO2-neutrality and a unique Block Insurance. We continue our efforts to get a vital part of Cardano in the most responsible way.


Overall Stats / Delegation Status

In June we won a big delegator (285k). This helped us to mint our first blocks and therefore proofing our setup which was a big milestone as many delegators do not consider 0 block pools.

Unfortunately this delegator decided to leave again end of July which pushed us back to 170k in active stake. In the meanwhile the active stake increased to 280k, which allows us to mint a block on average every 4th epoch.

We minted 7 blocks in total and generated an average live time ROA of 6.23% for our delegators (excluding the 7% ROA in the pool introduction phase)

This is far above the current average. For comparison, the top 100 pools by saturation generated ~4.7% on average during the last 10 Epochs.


Best Rate Offer / Pool Parameters Update

The best Rate Offer still runs until end of September. Since the introduction we were not always able to achieve 5% higher rewards than the top 100 pools. In the end it turned out we had to share 100% of the fixed cost to achieve or almost achieve the benchmark rate. Based on luck the real returns over-achieved the benchmark with the above mentioned 6.23%.

Calculating out luck we are generating 4.87% on average as long as the Best Rate Offer still runs.

After September the Best Rate offer will be discontinued and we will introduce a 100 ADA fixed cost + 2% margin configuration. This will generate 4.23% on average. As the lowest allowed fixed cost is still 340 ADA we will share 240 ADA with our delegators. As soon as the protocol allows lower fixed cost we will hand apply the according pool parameters on chain.

After this change the pool will generate profits for the first time. Everything until now was a pre-investment to achieve a delegation which already allowed us to achieve a stable basis for the future.

Through the change we will generate a 0.5% lower ROA (compared to the top 100 pools). The ROA will increase as the pool is further growing:

  • <1M: 4.23% ROA
  • 2M: 4.54% ROA
  • 3M: 4.66% ROA

When reaching >3M we will break through the AVG Top 100 Pool as those pools are still based on a 340 ADA fixed cost.


Sustainability

Through the introduction of the 100 ADA fixed cost the pool gets economically sustainable. Without generating profits we are not able to support our mission which makes this an important milestone for us. The low fixed cost should still make the pool an attractive choice for new delegators, while the 2% margin will generate income as soon as the pool further grows.


Highlights of the last 3 months

  • June 10th – 7% offer was exhausted (2000 ADA add-on rewards were fully paid out)
  • June 15th – Best Rate offer was communicated through the website
  • June 20th – Pledge increased to 40k
  • June 20th – Purchase of rainforest trees to offset all CO2 emissions of the pool for the next 60 years
  • June 25th – Discussion Channel was introduced: https://t.me/joinchat/k7SjxqFCfC41NGRk
  • June 28th – FIRST BLOCK MINTED. End of being unlucky. We should have minted 3 blocks already but never were elected.
  • June 28th – First donation to Lobby16
  • June 28th – Introduction of the Africa/Ethiopia Relay
  • July 1st – Introduction of the Block Insurance. If we miss a block based on technical issues we stand in and pay the rewards from our pocket.
  • August 13th – Publication of the Delegators Knowledge Check
  • August 19th – Series of technical Articles published on the forum
  • August 27th – We are now part of 5 Alliances (MDP, CSPA, xSPO, CNBG, CDP)

Technical Update

Since the beginning we are running a failover approach which allows us to switch from one Block Producer to another in case of issues. The failover was in the meanwhile automated and we shared the required approach with the community


Future Outlook

Another round of Delegation was announced by IOG this week. In the next IOG newsletter the registration form will be published. We know already that this time community contributions will be important and that there will be a way which allows other SPOs to vote individual pools as well.

We created accounts on Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn additionally to the Reddit and Twitter account. We will use these channels to communicate our values and differentiators. We believe in our offering and think the main reasons why we did not found more delegation so far is because we are “talking” to less about our unique offering. We plan to run a series of post where we will highlight each differentiator one more time to generate some awareness.

Additionally we will run a survey with a gift which is meant to educate delegator about our differentiators to generate additional visibility for our pool.



VITAL Pool Update - June 2021

This update takes a focus on concluding the 7% ROA Offer and announcing how we continue to provide competitive rates to our delegators. The new offer will also be reflected in the other areas of the website soon with the according terms in more detail.

Topics covered in this update
  • Concluding 7% ROA Offer
  • Introducing Best Rate Offer (AVG TOP 100 + 5%)
  • Introducing New Rewards Parameters (0-100 + 1.5%)
  • Summary

Concluding the 7% ROA Offer

On March 3rd we announced the 7% ROA offer. Since then we were able to provide an over-the-average rewards rate which was and still is paid out every epoch. This offer helped us to grow the pool and we achieved a total active stake of 485k. Recently we won a big delegator which will help to generate our first block earlier. Anyways this also means that the rewards contingent for the 7% offer will be exhausted earlier. For this reason we want to outline how the 7% offer will be concludes and what you can expect after it.

The current epoch 271 is still generating full 7% rewards. The next epoch 272 will consume the remaining contingent of 351 ADA which will cover 82.8% of the rewards. This means that Epoch 272 will generate ~5.8% rewards from the remaining contingent if no block is minted. If there is a block minted the offer will be extended accordingly and we will share calculation details in another update.

Detailed calculation:

  • Currently Remaining Contingent (per 9.6.2021): ₳ 1039,59
  • Reserved Epoch 269 (11.6.2021): ₳ 116,58
  • Reserved Epoch 270 (16.6.2021): ₳ 147,05
  • Reserved Epoch 271 (21.6.2021): ₳ 423,97
  • Forecasted Epoch 272: ₳ 425,00 (but only 351,99 remaining)

Introducing Best Rate Offer (AVG TOP 100 + 5%)

We are serious about being transparent with our delegators. The truth is that in Cardano’s current reward scheme a small pool cannot provide competitive rates compared to big pools. For this reason we are preparing a new offer to compensate the issue.

The logic is simple: We pay you a 5% higher reward than the average Top 100 pool (by active stake). This allows you to not worry about which individual pool provides the best rate at a certain time and hop to other pools if the active stake is reducing or the pool is changing parameters. We will update the best rate every epoch, so you will keep getting best in class rewards.

How does the calculation work?
  • 1. Evaluate the average returns of the top 100 pools ordered by active stake. In Epoch 268 this results in 4.9158%
  • 2. Add 5% on top: 5.16%
Payout timing

Based on the fixed income sharing approach the fixed income will be shared if there was at least one block generated in the according epoch. Based on the current active stake of 500k there are 3 blocks per month on average to be expected (1 every 2 blocks). This leads to an average of 10 days between individual rewards payouts.

Offer duration

We commit to the growth of our pool and will continue this offer for at least 3 month or an active stake of 3 million. Until then it should be possible to reduce the pools fixed fee which allows us to let Cardano take over the rewards distribution natively. We will then just update the fixed cost parameter of the pool every epoch.


Introducing new rewards parameters (0-100 + 1.5%)

The above described best rate offer describes a dynamic fixed cost which is used to produce benchmark return rate on average. Additionally we are limiting the maximum fixed cost which we keep as an operator to 100 ADA. This reflects the real run-cost for the pool in a better way and we believe that many pools will also reduce the fixed cost as soon as this will be possible. To still make the pool sustainable the margin is increased to 1.5%. This shift from fixed cost to margin better supports the growth of the pool.

Note: 340 fix + 0% = 100 fix + 1.5 at 22M active stake. This means that up to 22M active stake we will be even cheaper than a 0% pool.

The following chart demonstrates how the returns will be influenced by the active stake of the pool during the Best Rate offer with the new Pool Rewards Parameters


Summary

  • The 7% ROA Offer will generate it’s last rewards in epoch 272
  • From Epoch 273 the Best Rate Offer will be applied (5% above TOP 100)
  • It provides the rate by sharing the fixed income of 340 ADA to delegators
  • This way our small pool does not pay less rewards compared to the biggest pools
  • A maximum of 100 ADA remains to the operator if the Best Rate is over-achieved
  • In this case also the delegators returns will exceed the benchmark (of 5.16% for the calculated epoch)


VITAL Pool Update - May 2021

This is our first pool update in this format. The VITAL Pool was registered at 22nd of February 2021. Within those almost 3 month a lot happened and we’d like to share our current status and thought.

The most important good we have are our delegators and from various conversations with some of you I collected feedback. Some of you like our mission, some of you like unique approach of generating constant rewards even as a small pool. We have a solid basis of 30 delegators and can’t wait to continue our journey with you!

So what’s next?

Topics covered in this article
  • Overall Stats and current Status
  • What happened so far
  • Getting sustainable
  • Mission Driven Pools
  • Technical Update - Hybrid Cloud
  • Future Outlook

Overall Stats and Current Status

Pool Stats

Currently we have 130k Live Stake from 30 Delegators with still 0 Block generated.

Our lifetime stake (sum of active stake per epoch) is at 1 mio ADA currently. On average this is enough to mint 1 block. Unfortunately luck did not turn in and we were not elected as a slot leader so far. Like in the casino past is not influencing future. Based on the 130k active stake our chance to be elected is 13% every epoch. So on average we will get our block in 7.7 epochs.

7% ROA contingent

1277 ADA are still available. This equals 64% of the fund. The other 36% are either paid out or reserved for payout

Every epoch we will pay out 93 ADA (with the current active stake). There is remaining contingent for 13.7 more epochs if we do not mint any block until then. If we mint a block this will add additional epochs since some of your rewards will come from Cardano’s native rewards.


What happened so far?

  • 22nd February 2021 – VITAL Pool registered on Chain
  • 2nd March 2021 – Upgraded Architecture (2 Relay, 2 Block Producer)
  • 3rd March 2021 – Announced 7% ROA Offer
  • 11th March 2021 – Transparency of Rewards Calculation
  • 12th March 2021 – Mobile App provided
  • 22th March 2021 – Website UI Relaunch
  • 1st April 2021 – Part of the Mission Driven Pool Alliance
  • 7th April 2021 – Upgrade to Cardano 1.26.2
  • 10th April 2021 – Article for Stake pool Operators
  • 5th May 2021 – Article for Delegators
  • 10th May 2021 - Infrastructure upgrade to Hybrid cloud
  • 15th May 2021 – Upgrade to Cardano 1.27.0

Getting Sustainable

We did some research in what it means to successfully run a stake pool and what factors are relevant for deciding for a stake pool from a delegator perspective. Base on our planning recommendations we are still in an early stage for the VITAL stake pool and we have 2 key milestones in front of us:

Mint the first block

It is a matter of luck to be selected for a slot. But luck increases with delegation. To overcome this initial hurdle we introduced the 7% ROA offer which already helped us gaining delegation. In 7.7 epochs (average) this first milestone should be achieved. We mind this important because it is a proof that the pool is set up properly and ready to mint blocks.

Getting Sustainable

The second milestone is to get sustainable. The pool needs to grow to be attractive for new delegators. This is primarily the case because in a small pool scenario the fixed cost for running the pool (currently 340 ADA) is eating into delegators rewards. Note: This is currently not relevant for you based on the 7% offer. At some point of time the minimal fixed cost will be lowered by IOG to reflect the real cost of running the servers again. This will make small pools more competitive again. The 7% will bridge the issue until then.

We also requested IOG delegation of 3 mio ADA for 3 month in April. This delegation method is meant to support small pools and increase decentralization. This Unfortunately we were not selected this round. 100 out of 700 pools were selected. To increase our chances for the next round for Q3 2021 we have some improvement ideas focusing on some real differentiators which we will announce throughout the next 3 months. IOG Delegation would help us to reduce the rewards share which goes into operator fixed fees. Currently this is not relevant for you because we are paying out out 7% add-on rewards, but for the time that the IOG delegation would help to make to pool attractive for additional delegators.


Mission Driven Pools

Since 1st April we are an active part of the Mission Driven Pool (MDP) Alliance. Behind the alliance there is a great community with bi-weekly meetings. Our key work is to generate a trusted list of stake pools which fulfill key requirements in terms of donations and transparency. We believe that this is very much in line with Cardano’s mission to make the world a better place for all of us and we are really happy to be part of this!


Technical Update - Hybrid Cloud

Release updates were installed as recommended by IOG. Additionally we challenged our architecture in terms of decentralization needs. Most of the Pools are running in Cloud environments on some VPS infrastructure. This means there is some kind of centralization into the cheapest providers on the market like Digital Ocean. We believe that decentralization will be improved by also have some servers running outside of those big hosting environments. Best decentralization comes from a huge variety of hosting locations.

For this reason we changed our hosting into a hybrid setup. Additionally to the 2 public relays in Germany and Finland there is now a self-hosted private relay in Austria. This is not registered to the block chain to avoid being targeted in DDOS attack scenarios. Also one Block Producer is moved from Finland to this Austrian based private hosting location. We still keep one Cloud server in Germany as a Hot Standby Block Producer.

Complete Setup:
Relays: Austria (private), Germany, Finland
Block Producers: Austria (private), Germany (standby)

The new servers are running on power efficient hardware (15W TDP, AMD Ryzen 4900U). Both servers are using 8 cores and 24GB RAM. So they are very well prepared for the future. Of course the new private hosting location is also running on Eco-Energy, is USV Backed and has a Fiber 100MB internet connection. Samsung Pro NVME SSD and Snapshot Backup to an external SSD device are used to minimize recovery times in a disaster scenario. New servers are following the same Security Considerations as the existing cloud installation.


Future Outlook

The key highlights you can expect are:

  • Continuation of the 7% offer
  • Decrease of fixed cost as soon as possible by the network
  • Focus on additional differentiators and communication of those
  • Implementation and communication of factors which further increase our chance for IOG Delegation for the Q3 Round.

Stay tuned for our next Pool update! Thank you for delegating with us!

VITAL Pool Update - Oktober 2021

Ohne Übertreibung denke ich wir haben die loyalsten Delegatoren die man sich vorstellen kann! Seit inzwischen 8 Epochen wurde uns kein einziger Slot zugewiesen. Wir haben eine Pechsträne!. Aber die Vergangenheit beinflusst das zukünftige Glück nicht und so hoffen wir, dass diese Pechsträne bald ein Ende nimmt. Vielen Dank für die Geduld!

Konkret liegt die Livetime Luck des VITAL Pools bei 70% bei einer Slot-Verwertung von 100%. Das heißt wir haben keinen Block verloren. Kaum vorzustellen welche Rewards wir bei 100% oder gar >100% generierten hätten. Hoffentlich dürfen wir das in Zukunft auch mal erleben!

Overall Stats / Delegation Status

Seit dem letzten Update hat sich beim aktiven Stake nicht viel geändert. Durch die ausbleibenden Slots und damit auch Rewards ist der durchschnittliche ROA unserer Delegatoren während des Best Rate Offers auf 4.16% gesunken. Für diejenigen die seit Anfang an dabei sind ergibt das immerhin noch einen ROA von 5.5% inkl dem initialen 7% Angebot.


Pool Parameters Update / Fixkosten Sharing

Wie im vorigen Update angekündigt stellen wir auf ein Fixkosten Sharing Modell um. Nachdem Cardano weitherhin ein minimum von 340 ADA Fixkosten vorgibt werden wir 240 ADA davon an unsere Delegatoren verteilen. Damit erreichen wir einen ROA der mit jenem eines 3.5M Pool vergleichbar ist. Desweiteren wurden die variablen Kosten auf 2% angepasst. Dies erlaubt es die Poolkosten nachhaltig zu decken. Details dazu auf unserer Angebotsseite


Highlights seit dem letzten Pool Update

  • 7. September - Update 1.29 (Ready for Alonzo)
  • 28. September - xSPO Knowledge Share Github erstellt
  • 30. September - Gewinnspiel
  • 4. Oktober - Update 1.30.1


VITAL Pool Update - September 2021

Update bezüglich dem aktuellen Status des VITAL Stake Pools. Statistiken, wesentliche Anpassungen und die Highlights der letzten 3 Monate. Auch die Werte des Pools wurden wesentlich erweitert. Insbesondere durch die CO2 Neutralität und die Block Insurance, aber auch im Bereich Dezentralisierung. Alles mit dem Ziel ein zentraler Bestandteil von Cardano in der Verantwortungsvollsten weise zu werden.


Overall Stats / Delegation Status

Im Juni haben wir einen großen Delegatoren (285k) gewonnen. Dadurch konnten wir die ersten Blöcke generieren und damit zeigen, dass das Pool korrekt funktioniert. Das war ein wichtiger Meilensteine da viele Delegatoren Pools mit 0 Blöcken ausschließen.

Leider hat uns dieser Delegator schon Ende Juli wieder verlassen wodurch wir auf 170k aktiven Stake geschrumpft sind. Seitdem ist der aktive Stake auf 280k gestiegen, wodurch wir im Schnitt alle 4 Epochen eine Block generieren werden.

Wir haben in Summe 7 Blöcke generiert und einen durchschnittlichen Live Time ROA von 6.23% für unsere Delegatoren erwirtschaftet (exkl. 7% ROA Einführungsangebot).

Der ROA liegt damit deutlich über dem Durchschnitt. Zum Vergleich: Die Top 100 Pools nach Saturation haben in den letzten 10 Epochen ca 4.7% im Schnitter erzielt.


Best Rate Offer / Pool Parameters Update

Das Best Rate Offer läuft noch bis Ende September. Seiter der Einführung konnten wir nicht in jeder Epoche tatsächlich 5% höhere Rewards als die Top 100 Pools erzielen. In einigen Epochen mussten wir 100% der Fixkosten teilen um die Benchmark Rate annähernd zu erreichen. Durch das überdurchschnittliche Glück konnten wir in Summe die oben genannten 6.23% erreichen.

Mit durchschnittlichem Glück werden wir im September weiterhin 4.87% erreichen.

Nach September wird das Best Rate Angebot auslaufen und wir werden stattdessen eine 100 ADA fixed Cost + 2% Margin Konfiguration einführen. Dadurch werden wir im Schnitt 4.23% ROA generieren. Da die minimalen Fixkosten aktuell weiterhin 340 ADA sind werden wir die verbleibenden 240 ADA weiterhin teilen. Sobald Cardano niedrigere Fixkosten erlaubt werden wir den entsprechenden Pool-Parameter nutzen.

Nach dieser Änderung wird das Pool das erste Mal Gewinne erzielen. Alles Bisherige war ein pre-investment um eine Basis für ein weiteres Wachstum zu schaffen.

Durch die Anpassung werden wir einen 0.5% geringeren ROA als die Top 100 Pools erzielen. Der ROA wir mit steigendem Stake folgendermaßen erhöht:

  • <1M: 4.23% ROA
  • 2M: 4.54% ROA
  • 3M: 4.66% ROA

Sobald wir über 3M kommen werden wir einen besseren ROA als das durchschnittliche Top 100 Pool erreichen.


Nachhaltigkeit

Durch die Einführung der 100 ADA Fixkosten wird das Pool wirtschaftlich nachhaltig. Ohne Gewinne zu erzielen könnten wir keine Mission unterstützen wodurch diese Anpassung ein wichtiger Meilenstein für uns ist. Die niedrigen Fixkosten machen uns weiterhin zu einer guten Option für neue Delegatoren und der 2% Margin hilft mit weiterem Wachstum auch das Einkommen weiter zu erhöhen.


Highlights der letzten 3 Monate

  • 10. Juni – 7% Angebot ausgeschöpft (2000 ADA ausbezahlt)
  • 15. Juni – Best Rate wurde auf der Website kommuniziert
  • 20. Juni – Pledge erhöht auf 40k
  • 20. Juni – Kauf von 10 Regenbäumen im Wald der Österreich. 60 Jahre CO2 Neutral.
  • 25. Juni – Einführung einer Diskussions Telegram Gruppe : https://t.me/joinchat/k7SjxqFCfC41NGRk
  • 28. Juni – ERSTER BLOCK. Ende der Pechsträne. Eigentlich hätten wir schon 3 Slots zugewiesen bekommen sollen zu dem Zeitpunkt.
  • 28. Juni – Erste Spende an Lobby16
  • 28. Juni – Einführung des Africa/Ethiopia Relay
  • 1. Juli – Einführung der Block Insurance. Wenn wir aufgrund technischer Probleme einen Block versäumen zahlen wir die entgangenen Rewards.
  • 13. August – Veröffentlichung des Delegators Knowledge Check
  • 19. August – Veröffentlichung mehrerer technischer Artikel im Forum
  • 27. August – Wir sind nun teil von 5 Alliances (MDP, CSPA, xSPO, CNBG, CDP)

Technisches Update

Seit dem initialen Setup nutzen wir 2 Block Producer. Einen Aktiven und einen Failover um im Ernstfall umschalten zu können. Inzwischen haben wir den Failover automatisiert. Unsren Lösungsansatz dafür haben wir mit der SPO Community im Forum geteilt.


Zukunftsausblick

Die IOG hat diese Woche eine weitere Delegations runde angekündigt. Im nächsten IOG Newsletter wird das Registrierungsformular dafür bereitgestellt. Einige Kriterien wurden bereits vorab kommuniziert. Im Vordergrund steht dieses Mal die Einbringung in die Community welche u.a. auch durch ein Voting durch andere SPOs gemessen werden soll.

Wir haben zusätzlich zum bestehenden Reddit und Twitter Account noch Facebook, Instagram und LinkedIn Accounts angelegt. Wir möchten alle Kanäle nutzen um unsere Werte und Differentiatoren zu kommunizieren. Wir sind überzeugt davon, dass unser Angebot sehr gut ist und der einzige Grund warum wir noch nicht mehr Delegatoren gefunden haben die geringe Kommunikation darüber ist. Daher planen wir eine Serie von Posts in denen wir unsere USPs noch mal ausführlich kommunizieren werden.

Zusätzlich planen wir eine Geschenks Umfrage die darauf abzielt mögliche Delegatoren auf unsere Werte aufmerksam zu machen und damit zusätzliche Sichtbarkeit für unser Pool zu erreichen.



VITAL Pool Update - Juni 2021

Dieses Update behandelt den Abschluß des 7% ROA Angebots und stellt dar, wie wir unseren Delegatoren danach weiterhin kompetitive Rewards bieten können. Unser neues Angebot wird in Kürze auch auf unserer Website inklusive der detaillierten Bedingungen dargestellt.

Themein in diesem Update
  • Ende des 7% ROA Angebot
  • Einführung Best Rate Angebot (AVG TOP 100 + 5%)
  • Einführung Neue Pool Parameter (0-100 + 1.5%)
  • Summary

Ende des 7% ROA Angebot

Am 3. März haben wir das 7% ROA Angebot eingeführt. Seitdem konnten wir überdurchschnittliche hohe Rewards an unsere Delegatoren auszahlen. Dieses Angebot hat es unser erlaubt einen aktiven Stake von 485k ADA zu erreichen. Kürzlich konnten wir einen großen Delegator gewinnen. Das wird uns helfen unseren ersten Block früher zu generieren. Allerdings bedeutet es auch, dass das 7% ROA Angebot schon in Kürze auslaufen wird. Aus diesem Grund möchten wir darstellen wie die verbleibenden Epochen im Detail berechnet werden und wie es danach weiter geht.

Die aktuelle Epoche 271 wird weiterhin mit 7% ROA belohnt. Die Epoche 272 wird das verbleibende Kontingent von 351 ADA ausschütten und damit voraussichtlich 82.8% der Rewards abdecken. Das bedeutet, dass in Epoche 272 ~5.8% Rewards aus dem verbleibenden Kontingent ausbezahlt werden.

Berechnung im Detail:

  • Aktuell verbleibendes Kontingent (per 9.6.2021): ₳ 1039,59
  • Reserviert Epoche 269 (11.6.2021): ₳ 116,58
  • Reserviert Epoche 270 (16.6.2021): ₳ 147,05
  • Reserviert Epoche 271 (21.6.2021): ₳ 423,97
  • Vorhersage Epoche 272: ₳ 425,00 (es sind aber nur mehr 351,99 verfügbar)

Einführung Best Rate Angebot (AVG TOP 100 + 5%)

Eine offene Kommunikation mit unseren Delegatoren ist uns wichtig. Daher weisen wir darauf hin, dass mit den aktuellen von Cardano vorgegebenen Netzwerkparametern, ein kleines Pool nicht die gleichen Rewards generieren kann wie ein großes. Aus diesem Grund schaffen wir ein neues Angebot ins Leben, welches dieses Problem behebt.

Die Logik ist einfach: Wir zahlen 5% höhere Rewards als das durchschnittliche Top 100 Pool (nach aktivem Stake). Dadurch ist es nicht mehr nötig immer wieder zu prüfen welches Pool aktuell die besten Parameter bietet. Unsere Rate wird jede Epoche aktualisiert und wir zahlen zu jeder Zeit Best-In-Class Rewards.

Wie berechnen wir diese Best-In-Class Rate?
  • 1. Berechnung der durchnittlichen ROA der Top 100 pools sortiert nach aktivem Stake. In Epoche 268: 4.9158%
  • 2. Plus 5% on top: 5.16%
Auszahlungs Timing

Die berechneten Rewards werden erreicht indem die Fixkosten des Pools an die Delegatoren ausgeschüttet werden. Die Auszahlung erfolgt demzufolge nur wenn tatsächlich ein Block generiert wird. Mit dem aktuellen Stake von ca 500k wird das im schnitt alle 2-3 Epochen der Fall sein (10-15 Tage).

Angebotsdauer

Wir sind darauf commited weiterhin attraktive Raten anzubieten und werden dieses Angebot zumindest 3 Monate or bis zu einem aktiven Stake von 3 Millionen weiterführen. Bis dahin sollte es möglich sein die Fixkosten unter 340 ADA zu senken. Ab dann kann das Netzwerk selbst die Auszahlungen übernehmen, wir passen nur mehr die Fixkosten so an, dass bei den Delegatoren im Schnitt die AVG Top 100 + 5% ankommen.


Einführung Neue Pool Parameter (0-100 + 1.5%)

Die oben beschreibene Best-In-Class Rate wird durch eine dynamische Anpassung der Fixkosten erreicht. Zusätzlich limitieren wir die Fixkosten auf ein Maximum von 100 ADA. Das entspricht den Betriebskosten des Stake Pools. Stattdessen werden die flexiblen Kosten (Margin) auf 1.5% gehoben. Wir erwarten eine ähnlich Verschiebung der Kosten bei anderen Pools sobald Cardano eine Reduktion der Fixkosten erlaubt.

Anmerkung: 340 fix + 0% = 100 fix + 1.5 bei 22M active stake. Das bedeutet dass wir bis 22M aktivem stake günstiger sind als ein 0% margin pool.

Das folgende Chart zeigt wie der ROA durch den aktiven Stake durch unser Angebot angepasst wird.


Summary

  • Das 7% ROA Angebot wird die letzten Rewards in Epoch 272 generieren
  • Ab Epoche 273 tritt das Best-Rate Angebot in Kraft (TOP 100 + 5%)
  • Ab dann werden die 340 ADA Fixkosten auf unsere Delegatoren aufgeteilt.
  • Dadurch kann unser kleines Pool gleiche Rewards wie die großten Pools erreichen.
  • Ein Maximum von 100 ADA verbleibt beim Pool operator, falls die Best-Rate ansonst übertroffen werden würde.
  • In dem Falle eröht sich auch der ROA unserer Delegatoren.


VITAL Pool Update - Mai 2021

Dies ist unser erstes Pool Update in diesem Format. Das VITAL Pool wurde am 22. Februar 2021 registriert. In den seither vergangenen 3 Monaten ist eine Menge passiert was wir mit euch teilen möchten.

Unser höchstes Gut sind unsere Delegatoren und von einigen Konversationen wissen wir dass die Gründe für die Auswahl des VITAL Pools häufig in unserer Mission und unserem einzigartigen Ansatz von Anfang an kontinuierlich hohe Rewards liegen. Wie sind inzwischen mit 30 Delegatoren solide gewachsen und möchten auch in Zukunft ein kontinuierliches Wachstum des Pools fördern!

Wie geht es also weiter?

Themen in diesem Artikel
  • Poolstatistiken und aktueller Status
  • Was bisher geschah
  • Weg zur Nachhaltigkeit
  • Mission Driven Pools
  • Technik Update - Hybrid Cloud
  • Future Outlook

Poolstatistiken und aktueller Status

Poolstatistiken

Aktuell sind 130k Live Stake von 30 Delegatoren delegiert. Leider wurde noch kein Block generiert.

Unser Lifetime Stake (Summe des aktiven Stakes aller Epochen) liegt bei ca 1 mio ADA. Im Schnitt reicht dies um 1 Block zugewiesen zu bekommen. Leider hatten wir bisher noch kein Glück und wurden als Slot Leader ausgewählt. Wie im Casino wird auch hier die Zukunft nicht von der Vergangenheit beeinflusst. Mit dem 130k ADA Active Stake liegt unsere Change für einen Slot gewählt zu werden bei 13% pro Epoche. Im Schnitt werden wir damit in 7.7 Epochen unseren ersten Block generieren.

7% ROA Rewardskontingent

1277 ADA sind noch verfügbar. Das entspricht 64% des gesamten Kontingents. Die anderen 36% wurden entweder bereits ausgezahlt oder sind für eine Auszahlung reserviert.

Jede Woche werden mit dem aktuellen aktiven Stake 93 ADA ausbezahlt. Damit wird das Kontingent für weitere 13.7 Epochen reichen. Durch jeden Block den wir bis dahin validieren verlängert sich der Zeitraum, weil in dem Fall ein Teil der Rewards aus dem Cardano nativen Rewards bezahlt wird und wir lediglich die Differenz auf 7% aufzahlen müssen.


Was bisher geschah

  • 22. Februar 2021 – VITAL Pool wurde registriert
  • 02. März 2021 – Architecture Upgrade (2 Relay, 2 Validator)
  • 03. März 2021 – 7% ROA Einführungsangebot wurde eingeführt
  • 11. März 2021 – Rewards Berechnung im Google Sheet verfügbar
  • 12. März 2021 – Mobile App bereitgestellt
  • 22. März 2021 – Website Design Relaunch
  • 01. April 2021 – Mission Driven Pool Alliance Mitgliedschaft
  • 07. April 2021 – Upgrade auf Cardano 1.26.2
  • 10. April 2021 – Artikel für Stake Pool Operators
  • 05. Mai 2021 – Artikel für Delegatoren
  • 10. Mai 2021 - Infrastruktur Upgrade Hybrid Cloud
  • 15. Mai 2021 – Upgrade auf Cardano 1.27.0

Weg zur Nachhaltigkeit

Basierend auf den von uns veröffentlichten Artikeln zur Planung eines Stake Pools und den relevanten Auswahlkriterien aus Delegator Sicht sind wir noch in einer frühen Phase des VITAL Stakepools. Die folgenden 2 Meilensteine liegen vor uns:

Ersten Block generieren

Es ist eine reine Glücksfrage wann wir das erste Mal einen Slot zugewiesen bekommen. Aber das Glück steigt mit dem aktiven Stake. Genau um diese initiale Hürde zu meistern haben wir das 7% ROA Einführungsangebot ins Leben gerufen. Damit konnten wir 30 Delegatoren und 130k aktivem Stake erlangen und werden im Schnitt in 7.7 Epochen diesen ersten Meilenstein erreichen. Das ist wichtig weil wir damit beweisen, dass das VITAL Pool korrekt konfiguriert ist und viele Delegatoren Pools mit 0 Blöcken ignorieren.

Nachhaltig werden

Der zweite Meilenstein ist es nachhaltig zu werden. Das Pool muss für neue Delegatoren attraktiv werden. Die primäre Hürde sich für ein kleines Pool zu entscheiden sind die Fixkosten von 340 ADA die von den Rewards abgezogen werden. Diese Fixkosten können aktuell nicht kleiner angesetzt werden, stehen aber nicht mehr in Relation zu den echten Kosten eine Serverinfrastruktur zu betreiben. Beachte: Für VITAL Pool Delegatoren ist dies aufgrund des 7% ROA Angebots nicht relevant, weil die zuvor abgezogenen Fixed Costs danach vom Add-On Kontingent wieder auf 7% aufgefüllt werden. In weiterer Folge wird die IOG die Fixkosten reduzieren um die realen Betriebskosten unter Berücksichtigung des gestiegenen ADA Preises wieder abzubilden. Das wird kleine Pools attraktiver machen. Bis dahin sollte das 7% Angebot dieses Problem noch überbrücken.

Wir haben uns im April für die 3 mio Delegation der IOG beworben. Diese IOG Aktion wurde ins Leben gerufen um kleine Pools zu unterstützen und damit die Dezentralisierung zu fördern. Leider wurden nicht wir in dieser Runde nicht als eines der 100 Pools unter 700 Bewerbern ausgewählt. Allerdings wurden die Auswahlkriterien offen gelegt und wir haben einige Ideen wie wir unsere Chancen in der nächsten Runde im Q3 2021 erhöhen können. Die IOG Delegation würde uns helfen den Anteil Fixkosten für den einzelnen Delegator zu reduzieren. Aktuell ist dies durch die 7% Aktion nicht relevant, dennoch ist es wichtig einen Status zu erreichen in dem das Pool für neue Delegatoren attraktiver wird.


Mission Driven Pools

Seit dem 1. April sind wir ein aktives Mitglied der Mission Driven Pool (MDP) Alliance. Hinter der Alliance stecke eine Großartige Community die sich in 2-wöchentlichen Meetings organisiert. Unsere Kernaufgabe und Motivation ist es die Anforderungen an ein MDP festzulegen. Dies beinhaltet Anforderungen an Spenden und einer transparenten Kommunikation. Wie denken dass die Idee der Mission Driven Pools die Mission von Cardano die Welt zu einem besseren Ort für alle zu machen sehr gut unterstützt und wir freuen uns ein Teil davon zu sein!


Technik Update - Hybrid Cloud

Die Release Updates wurden installiert. Zusätzlich haben wir unsere Architektur angepasst um die Dezentralisierung noch besser zu unterstützen. Die meisten Pools laufen in Cloud Environments von großen Hosting Anbietern. Das verursacht eine Art von Zentralisierung bei den günstigsten Hosting Anbietern wie z.B. Digital Ocean. Eine optimale Dezentralisierung wird jedoch durch eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Hosting Locations erreicht.

Aus diesem Grund haben wir unsere Infrastruktur um eine Private Hosting Location erweitert und damit ein Hybrid Cloud Setup geschaffen. Zusätzlich zu den bestehenden 2 Public Relays in Deutschland und Finnland haben wir einen Private Relay in Österreich aufgesetzt. Dieser wurde in der Pool-Registrierung nicht angegeben. Das bedeutet, dass der Server zwar aktiv im Cardano Netzwerk läuft, aber nicht dem VITAL Pool zugeordnet werden kann, wodurch das Risiko eines erfolgreichen DDOS Angriff auf unsere Infrastruktur reduziert wird. Auch ein Validator wurde von Finnland nach Österreich in diese private Hosting Umgebung verschoben. Ein weiterer Validator verbleibt als Hot Standby in der Cloud in Deutschland.

Neues Setup in Summe:
Relays: Österreich (private), Deutschland, Finnland
Validators: Österreich (private), Deutschland (Active Standby)

Die neuen Server laufen auf Energie-effizienter Hardware (15W TDP, AMD Ryzen 4900U). Beide Server nutzen 8 Cores und sind mit 24GB RAM ausgestattet. Damit sind sie sehr gut für die Zukunft gerüstet. Natürlich wird auch am neuen Standort erneuerbare Energie genutzt. Eine USV vermeidet Downtime durch Stromausfälle. 100MB Glasfaser Internet. Samsung Pro NVME SSDs und SDD basierte externe Snapshot Backups zur Minimierung der Wiederherstellungszeit im Ausfallszenario. In Bezug auf Security wurden die gleichen Prinzipien wie für die bestehenden Server umgesetzt.


Ausblick

Folgende Themen stehen auf unserer Prioritätenliste:

  • Weiterführung des 7% Angebots
  • Reduktion der Fixkosten sobald dies vom Netzwerk erlaub wird
  • Schwerpunktanpassungen um weitere Alleinstellungsmerkmale auszuarbeiten
  • Umsetzung von Anpassungen um die Chancen einer IOG Delegation im Q3 weiter zu erhöhen.

Vielen Dank für das entgegengebrachte Vertrauen!